Writer’s Club, Anyone?

It has been a thought that sat in the back of my mind for what felt like years…

Once upon a time, I belonged to an online writing community. Granted, the members on it were mostly inactive, and some people there were a bit biased on some fandom pairing preferences; but it was an eye opening experience for me. I learned about Nanowrimo, for the first time, learned terms like “plot bunnies” and “writer’s block” descriptions of things that I go through all the time and I didn’t realize had names for them. I learned that my procrastinating nature, that my feeling of incompetence, my ups and downs; were actually regular things that any writer goes through.

I also learned that a writer is not a person who publishes a book, or someone who decides to dribble out scribbles and boast about it. A writer is someone who constantly LIVES and breaths words, plot, stories, characters. They are the ones that feel incomplete if they don’t carry a pen and notepad with them. They are the ones that use anything and everything as an inspiration for an idea. They are the ones that look beyond the writing and see if there is feeling, passion behind their works… They are the ones can identify other writers, and easily catch signs of talent in others. I learned that writing is a GIFT, than not everyone can write. That it is not easy, nor is it tedious. It’s fun, and it’s hell at the same time. But, most importantly, it’s something you can’t live without… If you are like that, if you find yourself feeling this way… then that means you indeed are a writer. And you don’t have to publish anything to call yourself one…

That website shut down for obvious reasons, but set off an idea, a though that’s been bugging me ever since….

Why not set up a writer’s club?

Yes, some type of club where people can bounce ideas of each other. And it doesn’t have to be limited to that, but it can also include artists who want have stories/comics to go along with their characters. I notice that there are artists out there that have good characters and ideas, but they struggle coming up with a storyline for them… When writers and artists go hand in hand, together it’s like chocolate and caramel. A bombshell combination.

I want to set up a blog for it and come up with a name. I’m going to have some of my close friends work with me. I also would like to set up a place to chat online. Well, I’ll see how this works out. I still don’t know, how it’s gonna run or anything, but I just wanna get this outta my chest.

If anyone reading this interested, please drop a comment or two.

One thought on “Writer’s Club, Anyone?

  1. Hello,
    There’s a new e-magazine for amateur writers/photographers called INKLICK e-MAGAZINE. It is a freely distributable e-magazine run by amateur group of bloggers. I like your blog posts and I invite you to be part of the e-magazine team. For a copy of e-magazine, download it from http://www.dl4all.com/e_books/magazine/483921-inklick-e-magazine-debut-issue-october-2010.html ; 3 files are present: flash, HTML and PDF. For best view, DL flash/HTML files. If you get any trouble downloading, visit our forum/mail me for the links. It is also embedded in our blog at http://new-e-magz.blogspot.com/2010/10/inklick-e-magazine-isssue-1-october.html
    Let’s work together and create a great platform. For further details and info, visit http://newemagz.freeforums.org or mail me at clubrfz@gmail(.)com
    Hope you’ll show interest in this growing project!
    Regards,
    Shaz

Leave a Reply

